SkinnyThirties

Life in my 30's

Spiced Carrot Cake w/ Salted Caramel Glaze

Spiced Carrot Cake w/ Salted Caramel Glaze

Made with Almond Meal & All-Purpose Flour

Ingredients for Cake:

  • 2/3 C  all-purpose flour
  • 1 C Almond Meal
  • 1/4 C  granulated Sugar
  • 3/4 C Sweetener (I used Pure Via)
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 packet Sugar Free Dry Apple Cider mix
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 C grated carrots, peeled
  • 1 4 oz. Unsweetened Apple Sauce (Kids Cups)
  • 5-6 Large Dried Pineapple Chunks, cut into small pieces
  • 1 Date, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 1.5 oz. box of raisins
  • 1/4 C Chopped Nuts (Typically Walnuts, but I used Almonds) & 1/4 C for topping

For the Glaze Icing:

  • 8 oz Cream Cheese
  • 8 tbsp Butter
  • 1/2 C Sugar Free Caramel Syrup (Smucker’s)
  • 4.5 C Confectioners Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Sugar Free Caramel Syrup (Torani)
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tbsp Cornstarch (optional)
  • 1 tsp Coarse Sea Salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients (flours, salt, spices, sugar & sweetener and dry apple cider)  Stir well with a whisk.  In a medium bowl, combine oil, eggs, vanilla, applesauce; stir well.  Add grated carrots, dried pineapple, raisins, and date.  Fold wet ingredients in with dry ingredients.  Fold in nuts.

Spread batter into bottom of greased (cooking spray) 9 in.  cake pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until center comes out clean when stuck with a toothpick.  Cooking times may vary depending on oven manufacturer and size of pan.  Set aside on cooling rack, and allow to cool completely.

Frosting Directions: 

Bring Cream Cheese and Butter to room temperature.  Beat until smooth and creamy.  Add vanilla and Torani Syrup.  Add Caramel Syrup (Smucker’s or your choice)  Add confectioners sugar at your own pace depending on type of mixer.  Add cornstarch if you wish and then Coarse Sea Salt.

Garnish top of cake with more crushed nuts and shaved dark chocolate.  Simple Dark Chocolate morsels around the bottom of the cake is an easy addition, and a lil punch of complementing flavor.  

* Disclaimer:  I am just now starting to experiment with Almond Meal/Flour and I judged my cake pan size wrong.  My original intent was to have a 2 layer cake, but my cakes did not rise very well.  They still taste fine, but from what I have read, I think I needed more of a thickening agent (as Almond Flour is free of gluten), that will bind the two flours together.  So, as you can see, my 2 layer cake is still technically two layers, but only the rise of one 9 in cake.  I will need to Google some more to find out how to use Almond meal correctly :)~

*  Also, I baked with what I had in my home.  I found many recipes that sounded great, but I didn’t have the items in my kitchen and I have a fractured 5th metatarsal and didn’t feel like walking even more as I have been standing on my feet all day.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
