SkinnyThirties

Life in my 30's

Find Your Voice

Image       That’s it People—Find YOUR voice and LOVE it!  So, we’re all on a journey.  Whether our journey is to higher our education, help special needs children, fight diabetes, fight global warming, eat healthier-the list goes on and on.  The stones to our path are there, whichever ones we decide to hop on, skip on, tread on, slip on. 

I have been fighting for quite some time now to find my voice and be comfortable with it.  Naah, not the opera voice, but my internal voice- that force that drives us insane.  I’ve looked to everyone but myself for where that voice is coming from.  Am I being driven by some outer force?  What makes me tick?

I’ve been on a health journey for a little over a year now.  I’ve fought everyday, like stupidly fought, worrying what other people think.  It’s a weakness I’m building into strength.  When you grow up fat your whole life, it’s almost like you have this cloud over you, this stigma—you’re NOT allowed to want to be thin or healthy.  Most often, you grew up in a family of obesity and the thoughts actually cross your mind- well, I don’t want my family to feel akward or be disappointed if I lose weight.  To utterly think that those who love us the most would not want us to be the best we can be.  For some, unfortunately, they do face those types of people in their lives.

I’m not anywhere close to having this health journey figured out- but then I have to sit back and realize, I don’t have to copy or do everything that everyone else is doing.  Sure, some of it may be good information-leading them to a better lifestyle or tricks of the trade, BUT where is MY voice in this?  It’s difficult for me, I guess, to find that balance between taking suggestions and guidance and just figuring it out on my own and making my own choice.  In my opinion, people are too eager to jump on any bandwagon to save themselves.  But by God, we’re all different so-again, find that internal voice.

My friend Lisa told me recently, that, most all of us— if we can’t find that thing, that deep down tear jerker reason, for why we are on whatever journey we have chosen, chances are- you’ll fall to the wayside.  I have to agree with that.  If you’re internal driven force isn’t strong enough, deep enough, maybe even often wounded enough—what’s going to drive you to keep on going?  Sure, we can rely on others for support, but as the old saying goes: Nobody can do it for you!

I can’t wait to see myself achieve more goals.  I am finally understanding that we can only live our lives for ourselves.  I don’t mean that in a selfish way.  We can love eachother, help each other, look to others for guidance, but my guess is- God has a roadmap in our heart, we are uniquely created, down to every single hair on our head.  So- what I’m saying is, answer YOUR VOICE! More often than not, your heart already knows what it wants.  Our problem is trying to run from ourselves and getting lost somewhere we don’t need to be in the first place.

So, I’m not used to this writing thing-but there is my first blog.

Image

And for your awesomeness, here is a recipe for my EASY famous Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes- Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Cut your chosen quantity of sweet potatoes into 1 in. thick cubes

(This yields 1-2 potatoes, respectively)

Toss taters in 1 TBSP Olive Oil

Toss in 1 TBSP of Sugar Free Salted Carmel Syrup (like you use for coffee)

Shake Adobo seasoning to coat

Shake Paprika seasoning to coat

Bake at 375 for 30-45 minutes util your desired tenderness is reached.

To me this is delicious enough- especially sweet potatoes from the farmers market .  Feel free to add other spices such as cinnamon or nutmeg, but this was enough sweetness for me.

  • Health tip:  For sore aching muscles, throw some unused rice into an old sock, shaking cinnamon in with it.  Sounds like rice pudding, huh? But seriously, Cinnamon is widely used outside of the spice rack.  Use it here to help inflammation.  Tie up your sock, and throw into the microwave starting at 45 sec. until desired heat level is reached. Then just place on aching muscles to help relieve tension and inflammation.

Thanks ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Navigation

